Mar 28, 2023

Improving Access to Care: What You Need to Know

The Campaign for Action works to bring better care and wellness to more Americans by changing laws and policies that prohibit nurses from practicing to the full extent of their education and training. Below are facts you can use to educate others about our efforts.

The four types of advanced practice registered nurses:

  • nurse practitioners
  • clinical nurse specialists
  • certified registered nurse anesthetists
  • certified nurse-midwives

APRNs are registered nurses with advanced degrees who have passed national certification exams. Learn who APRNs are.

Twenty-seven states and the District of Columbia allow nurse practitioners to practice without restriction. See other states’ efforts  to update their laws.

Studies show that better laws mean more Americans enjoy greater access to high-quality health care at a lower cost:


In 2012, the National Governors Association produced a paper supporting its premise that the best way “states could increase access to primary care for their residents is to consider easing their scope of practice restrictions.”


A review of published literature over 18 years on care provided by APRNs shows “APRNs provide effective and high-quality patient care, have an important role in improving the quality of patient care in the United States.”


Separate studies in multiple states show the economic benefits of removing barriers to practice and care; scholars and think tanks make the same case in articles. A Federal Trade Commission report states that “expanded APRN scope of practice is good for competition and American consumers.”

Two webinars, “The Evidence Shows: Better Laws Mean Better, More Accessible Care” and “Progress on the Institute of Medicine Recommendations: More Evidence” provide data showing that the  nation benefits when nurses can practice to the full extent of their education and training.