Dec 16, 2022

Four Types of Advanced Practice Registered Nurses

There are four types of advanced practice registered nurses:

  • Nurse practitioners
  • Clinical nurse specialists
  • Certified registered nurse anesthetists
  • Certified nurse-midwives

Find out how many are in the United States, and what they do, by type.

PowerPoint Slide  – Types of APRNs

Advanced practice registered nurses:

  • Are registered nurses (RNs) with a master’s, post-master’s, or doctoral degree.
  • Pass national certification exams.
  • Teach patients to understand their health problems and what they can do to get better.
  • Coordinate care and advocate for patients.
  • Refer patients to physicians and other health care providers.

PowerPoint Slide  – Who Are APRNs